登录

登录到您的帐户

用户名*
密码*
记住我
en English ZH-CN 简体中文

输血简史

英国医生威廉哈维在 1628 年充分描述了血液的循环和性质,并且在输血后未尝试输血。40 年后,法国国王路易十四的医生将血液从一只绵羊输送到一名 15 岁的男孩身上,后者幸免于难。当时很少进行输血,普遍认为让病人流点血会有更好的结果。

1901 年,奥地利医师卡尔兰德斯坦纳记录了第一批人类血型A,B和O,并确立了ABO相容性的基本原则。

在第一次世界大战期间,发现抗凝剂如柠檬酸钠可延长血液的保存期限,并引入了制冷技术以保存更长时间。 战后,埃德温科恩开发了冷乙醇分馏,一种将血液分解成其组成部分的方法。

然而大规模输血在第二次世界大战期间引入了。开发出的血液储存方法可以使这种宝贵的资源在战场上得到利用,并且围绕其收集、储存和供应开发出了一个行业。

战争结束后,这个新兴产业有效地将其服务推向了医院和医疗机构。 在战后的世界里,口号“鲜血拯救生命”几乎从没受到质疑 - 毕竟,它不是在战争时期拯救了无数的生命吗? 输血被认为是安全的,并且很容易被引入所有形式的手术。

尽管很少或没有研究可以证明,输血仍旧成为了全球医学和外科手术的默认阵地。

无血的医学和手术的早期

然而,有些人质疑自由使用血液,并且越来越多的证据表明,不输血的手术可以在患者中产生好的或更好的结果。

无血医学和激进的先驱者中,美国外科医生丹顿·科利(Denton Cooley),是公认为“现代无血手术之父”。 1957 年,在得克萨斯心脏研究所工作的Denton Cooley在不使用输血的情况下进行了心内直视手术 - 这是一项非常棒的技术,当时通常使用12个单位的血液来灌注心肺机。

随着其他避免使用血液的技术被开发,术语“无血液手术”出现了。 Cooley医生进行了数百次手术,成功避免了输血常常引起的并发症。 文章:Cooley 1977 医生出版

Denton Cooley博士专访2011 (运行1:41中文字幕)

到了 1970s,其他外科医生展现出了与无血手术相似的成功。

1973 年,心脏外科医生Jerome Kay医生在 美国医学协会杂志“ 上撰文,注意到类似的成功:“我们现在已经在洛杉矶的圣文森特医院完成了大约6000例开放心脏手术,我们没有为大多数患者使用血液,在我们的印象中,患者这样会更好。

同样在 1970s,无血医学和外科学院在加州成立。由外科医生Ron Lapin和麻醉医师弗雷德加西亚领导,该研究所汇集了一个协调正规的计划,专门研究所有手术无血的学科。到1986年,成千上万的病人在没有使用血液或血液制品的情况下进行了大手术和麻醉 - 甚至在失血量达到90%的病人中成功地进行了紧急手术。

艾滋病和血液

1981 年,美国疾病控制和预防中心警示血液行业出现新的威胁。血友病专家Bruce Evatt博士发现血友病患者中的卡氏肺囊虫肺炎(PCP)病例激增,并将其归因于使用凝血因子VIII,这是血液行业发布的一种重要血液凝固蛋白。他们还注意到美国一群男同性恋者中关于罕见癌症卡波西肉瘤病例的报道几乎都被证明是致命的。

一年后,艾滋病(获得性免疫缺陷综合征)一词被首次使用,被定义为:“一种至少适度预测细胞介导的免疫缺陷的疾病,发生在没有已知病例,对该疾病的抵抗力降低的患者身上”。 到1984年,研究人员已经确定病因是人类免疫缺陷病毒(HIV),通过性接触,共享针头和血液制品传播。

到 1985 年引进了病毒血液筛查测试。不幸的是,这种延迟对于血液稀少症患者来说是灾难性的,许多人通过使用血液制品来感染疾病。到 1990s,对献血者的更严格的条件和更好的血液制品治疗被引入 - 今天,发达国家血液传播的艾滋病毒感染率很低。然而,艾滋病仍然是全世界关注的问题。据 世界卫生组织报告,在 2014 年,世界上有 36.9 人感染艾滋病毒。 在 2014 年间,也有 1.2 百万艾滋病人死亡。

艾滋病流行病突出显示了减少或消除使用同种异体血液制品的替代方案的明显益处。 对无血手术方案和技术的兴趣和研究加快了愿意提供这种替代治疗方式的机构数量的增加。

变革组织

随着世界各地医院提供的许多无血计划,到1990s末时,组织中开始出现新的思维方式。 血液管理将成为护理和输血的新标准。 诸如血液管理促进学会(SABM),输血替代促进网络(NATA)等组织, 澳大利亚血液保护协会(AABC) 和医学血液管理学会(MSBM)力图通过促进和支持研究与协作进行血液管理来扩大信息基础。

2009 年,SABM和MSBM组织了“输血结果国际共识会议”(ICCTO),这是一个转折点。 来自美国食品和药物管理局,联合委员会,美国红十字会和澳大利亚红十字会的国际专家提出了与不必要的输血有关的潜在危害。 研究结果发表在 2011 年的文章上: 异体红细胞输血适应性:关于输血结果的国际共识会议。 (抽象)

越来越多的研究显示,减少或消除血液制品的好处已经开始被世界各地的医院,政府和监管机构注意到。

患者血液管理被定义

1998 年,来自澳大利亚的血液学家詹姆斯·伊斯比斯特(James Isbister)教授首先提出了一种范式转变,重新回到患者关注的焦点。 (文章:输血的范式转变) 在 2005 年,他在“血液保存和输血替代方案更新”杂志上发表了一篇文章。 在这篇文章中,Isbister教授创造了“患者血液管理”一词,指出应将重点从产品改为患者。 要阅读这篇文章,请点击下面的图片。

血液保存和输血替代品更新,2005 年December月。

James Isbister教授讨论了患者血液管理的历史 (运行2:30中文字幕)

患者血液管理的未来

从标准输血实践向患者血液管理的转变正在全球蓬勃发展。 然而,这是一个“范式转变”,需要时间才能最终成为护理的新“黄金标准”。

(文章:患者血液管理:全球视野。)

国际病人血液管理基金会等组织处于这一转变的前沿。 该基金会成立于2015年,作为非营利性瑞士基金会,旨在通过在临床实践中推广,扩展和改进循证患者血液管理来改善患者的结果。 由世界领先的PBM专家推动,并以科学验证和循证实践为基础,该基金会促进患者血液管理教育和培训,以实现变革。

延伸阅读

摘录自 无输血医学和外科手术 教科书(PDF 603 kb)

谁在线?

我们有73客人,没有在线会员

Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

A Brief History of Blood Transfusion

British physician William Harvey fully described the circulation and properties of blood in 1628 and blood transfusions were unsuccessfully attempted soonafter. 40 years later, French King Louis XIV's physician performed the transfusion of blood from a sheep to a 15-year old boy who survived the ordeal. Transfusions were rarely performed, the common belief was that bleeding a patient would have better results.

In 1901, Austrian physician Karl Landsteiner documented the first human blood groups, A, B and O and established the basic principals of ABO compatibility. 

During WWI, anticoagulants such as sodium citrate were found to prolong the shelf life of blood and refrigeration was introduced in an effort to preserve it even longer. After the war, Edwin Cohn developed cold ethanol fractionation, a method of breaking down blood into its component parts.

However it was during World War II that large-scale blood transfusion was introduced. Blood storage methods developed that would allow this precious resource to be made available on the battlefield and an industry developed around its collection, storage and supply.

At the end of the war this new industry effectively marketed their services to hospitals and medical instututions. In a post-war world, the slogan, 'blood saves lives' was hardly questioned - after all, hadn't it saved countless lives in a time of war?  Blood transfusion was assumed safe and was readily introduced into all forms of surgery. 

With little or no research to prove otherwise, transfusion became accepted as the default position for medicine and surgery globally.

 

The Early Days of Bloodless Medicine and Surgery

However there were some who questioned the liberal use of blood and saw increasing evidence that surgery without blood transfusion could produce as good or better outcomes in patients.

Among these pioneers of bloodless medicine and surgey is American surgeon Denton Cooley, generally recognised as the 'father of modern bloodless surgery'. In 1957, Denton Cooley, working at the Texas Heart Institute, performed open-heart surgery without the use of a blood transfusion - quite a feat as at that time up to 12 units of blood were generally used just to prime the heart-lung machine.

As other techniques were developed to avoid the use of blood, the term 'bloodless surgery' emerged. Dr. Cooley performed hundreds of operations successfully avoiding the complications often associated with transfusion. Article: Dr. Cooley 1977 Publication

 

Dr. Denton Cooley Interview 2011 (Runs 1:41)

 

By the 1970s, other surgeons were reporting similar success with bloodless surgery.

In 1973, heart surgeon Dr. Jerome Kay, writing in The Journal of the American Medical Association noted similar success: "We have now done approximately 6,000 open-heart operations in Saint Vincent's Hospital in Los Angeles. Since we have not been using blood for the majority of patients, it is our impression that the patients do better."

Also in the 1970s The Institute of Bloodless Medicine and Surgery was established in California. Headed by surgeon Ron Lapin and anesthesiologist Fred Garcia, the institute brought together a co-ordinated, formal program specializing in all the disciplines of surgery without blood. By 1986, thousands of patients had undergone major surgery and anesthesia without the use of blood or blood products - even emergency operations had been carried out successfully on patients who had lost up to 90% of their blood volume.

 

AIDS and Blood

In 1981, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention alerted the blood industry to an emerging threat. Dr. Bruce Evatt, a hemophilia specialist, had identified a surge in Pneumonocystisis carinii pneumonia (PCP) cases in hemophiliacs, attributing this to the use of Factor VIII, an essential blood-clotting protein distributed by the blood industry. They also noted reports of a cluster of cases of a rare cancer, Kaposi’s Sarcoma, among a group of gay men in the U.S., almost all proving fatal.

A year later, the term AIDS (acquired Immunodefficiency deficiency syndrome) was first used and defined as: “a disease at least moderately predictive of a defect in cell-mediated immunity, occurring in a person with no known case for diminished resistance to that disease.” By 1984, researchers had identified the cause to be the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), transmitted through sexual contact, needle sharing and blood products.

The blood industry had to act and by 1985 blood screening tests for the virus were introduced. Unfortunately this delay had been disastrous for hemaphiliacs, with many contracting the disease through the use of blood products. By the 1990s, more restrictive conditions for blood donors and better treatment of blood products had been introduced - today the incidence of blood-borne HIV infection is low in developed countries. However HIV continues to be a concern worldwide. According to the World Health Organization, in 2014, 36.9 people were living with HIV in the world. During 2014, there were also 1.2 million AIDS deaths.

The AIDS epidemic highlighted the obvious benefits of an alternative that reduces or eliminates the use of allogeneic blood products. Interest and research into bloodless surgery programs and techniques accelerated along with the number of institutions willing to offer this form of alternative treatment.

 

Organizations for Change

Along with the many bloodless programs being offered in hospitals worldwide, by the end of the 1990s organizations comitted to a new way of thinking began to emerge. Blood management would be the new standard of care and transfusion the alternative. Organizations such as the Society for the Advancement of Blood Management (SABM), the Network for the Advancement of Transfusion Alternatives (NATA), the Australasian Association for Blood Conservation (AABC) and the Medical Society for Blood Management (MSBM) sought to expand the information base by promoting and supporting research and collaboration into blood management.

A turning point came in 2009 when SABM and MSBM organized the International Consensus Conference on Transfusion Outcomes (ICCTO). International experts from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, The Joint Commission, American Red Cross, and the Australian Red Cross addressed the potential for harm associated with unnecessary blood transfusion. The findings were published in 2011 in the article: Appropriateness of allogeneic red blood cell transfusion: the international consensus conference on transfusion outcomes. (Abstract)

The growing volume of research showing the benefits of reducing or eliminating blood products was beginning to be noticed by hospitals, governments and regulatory bodies around the world.

 

Patient Blood Management is Defined

 In 1998, Professor James Isbister, a haematologist from Australia, first proposed a paradigm shift back to a patient focus. (Article: The Paradigm Shift in Blood Transfusion) In 2005, he penned an article in the journal, 'Updates in Blood Conservation and Transfusion alternatives'. In this article Prof. Isbister coined the term 'patient blood management', noting that the focus should be changed from the product to the patient. To read this article, please click on the image below.

 

 

Updates in Blood Conservation and Transfusion alternatives, Dec 2005. 

Prof. James Isbister (Runs 2:30)

 

The Future of Patient Blood Management

The shift away from standard transfusion practice to Patient Blood Management is gaining momentum worldwide. However it is a 'paradigm shift' that will take time to finally become the new 'gold standard' of care.

(Article: Patient blood management: the global view.) 

Organizations such as the International Foundation for Patient Blood Management are at the forefront of this shift. Established in 2015 as a not-for-profit Swiss Foundation, the Foundation's aim is to improve patient outcomes by promoting, expanding and improving evidence-based Patient Blood Management in clinical practice. Driven by the world’s leading PBM experts and grounded in scientific validation and evidence-based practice, the Foundation promotes education and training in Patient Blood Management to enable change.

 

Further Reading

Excerpt from Transfusion Free Medicine and Surgery Textbook (PDF 603kb)

 

Who is Online?

We have 24 guests and no members online

Stay Connected

 TWITTER           FACEBOOK            INSTAGRAM