登录

登录到您的帐户

用户名*
密码*
记住我
en English ZH-CN 简体中文

患者血液管理使医护专业人员成为帮助改善患者结果的新工具。 国际患者血液管理基金会授权医护专业人员获得最新的知识,研究和建议。

为什么从产品焦点转向患者焦点?

随着20世纪同种异体输血的发展,大量出血患者因此存活下来,主要手术进展已经成为可能,血友病患者寿命更长,生活更好,骨髓抑制化疗可以拯救骨髓衰竭。 那么问题在于什么呢? 越来越多的临床医生认为,输血医学过度关注血液成分供应方面,而不是从需求/患者/问题的角度来考虑问题。

临床重点是“对患者最有利”,而不是“对血液供应最有利”,这并不是否认提供足够和安全的血液供应所面临的多个问题和挑战的重要性,而是确保马在车前,愿意并能够满足患者的需求,使血液供应链适应患者的临床需要。

同种异体输血是支持疗法,可以用来控制造血不足造成的影响或预防与造血不足有关的问题。异体输血,尤其是围手术期输血,不应被视为造血缺陷患者的首选治疗方法。

对于大多数患者来说,可以通过纠正或管理造血系统缺陷的影响来最小化或避免对异体血液成分的需求。

不言而喻,如果可以避免同种异体血液,则不需要考虑潜在的危险。

在许多临床情况下,已经假定了输血的益处,并且,一个清醒的想法是认为当没有证据支持输血的好处时,患者不必要地暴露于潜在的重大发病率甚至死亡率。 血液成分治疗的决策过程可能具有挑战性,并且关于使用各种同种异体血液成分的适应症的争论还在继续。 然而,当没有证据表明潜在的收益或临床不确定性时,有良好的常识和科学依据支持采用非输血的默认方法。

为什么患者血液管理如此重要?

贫血,严重出血和输血是患者不良后果的三个独立危险因素。

PBM解决患者的质量和安全性,为患者达到最佳临床疗效。

贫血是一个全球性问题,8.8年在所有病症中占全球残疾总数的2010%,其中缺铁性贫血是最常见的病理生理学。 (文章:1990-2010年全球贫血负担的系统分析)

有强有力的证据表明,贫血是增加输血和不利临床结果的独立危险因素,尤其是在手术环境中,包括更高的死亡率和发病率(例如心脏,呼吸,肾脏,伤口事件,败血症和静脉血栓栓塞)。 此外,输血与住院时间延长,术后入院重症监护和医疗成本增加有关。

这些不良反应可能归因于输血相关的免疫调节(TRIM),应与输血的其他免疫风险一起考虑,如立即和延迟的免疫反应。 不稳定血液成分的收集,保存和储存的潜在影响也是导致不良临床结果的潜在致病因素。

定义和捕获当前的血液检测系统中所有临床输血相关反应是很困难的。 血液警戒方案侧重于确定性因果关系的不良后果,即输血与所产生危害之间存在1:1对关系。 相反,上述因素所引起的不良后果是概率性的,输血是特定患者人群观察性流行病学研究中确定的风险因素。

然而,将来可能有可能将有关医疗相关不良后果的发生率数据与输血和血液警戒数据联系起来。 这种报告可能推动和促进PBM更广泛更全面地实施。

澳大利亚PBM指南文件中有详细记录,贫血是选择性手术的禁忌症,但审核研究发现,在许多手术患者中,贫血仍然未被纠正,增加输血的可能性,危及最佳临床结果并增加医疗成本。

识别和诊断选择性手术环境中的贫血应该是围手术期病人护理的一个不言而喻的方面。

此外,管理不善和出血不畅以及不必要和过度的医源性血液取样损失是贫血和不良后果的独立预测因素。 显然,临床实践的变化将减轻这些风险,改善患者的结果并提高患者的安全。

同种异体输血在临床医学中是“盛行的”,假设有益,风险被认为是最小的。同种异体输血是住院患者最常见的治疗干预措施之一。数十年来,输血已被植入临床实践文化中,作为失血和贫血的默认治疗方法。然而,近年来这种做法受到了挑战,越来越多的证据表明,特别是在血流动力学稳定的患者中,输血是不良后果的另一个独立危险因素。

将限制性输血方案的观察性和随机对照试验扩大到以证据为基础,已成为将贫血和出血的临床管理从产品焦点转移到患者焦点的主要的紧迫的驱动因素。

现代医学的基本和核心原则就是要优先考虑和解决病人的临床问题,而不是先发制人的默认可能是或不合适的治疗方法。 虽然对患者问题的准确诊断和临床管理选择的风险/效益分析是现代医学的必要条件,但对于输血而言,在贫血和出血的处理中通常不是这样。

如果您已经意识到患者血液管理,请了解国际病人血液管理基金会如何支持您。

我知道PBM

患者血液管理就是要有效地管理患者自己的血液。了解为什么它正在迅速成为世界各地的最佳实践。

我不知道PBM

谁在线?

我们有19客人,没有在线会员

Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Patient Blood Management gives Health Professionals a new tool to help improve patient outcomes. The International Foundation for Patient Blood Management empowers Health Professionals with the latest knowledge, research and recommendations.

 

Why the Move from a Product Focus to a Patient Focus?

With the development of allogeneic blood transfusion during the 20th century, massively bleeding patients survive, major surgical advances have been made possible, haemophiliacs live longer and better lives and marrow failure from disease or bone marrow suppressive chemotherapy can be survived. So what is the problem? Increasingly, the view of many clinicians is that transfusion medicine has excessively focused on the blood component supply side rather than from the demand/patient/problem perspective.

Clinical focus is “what is best for the patient?” not, “what is best for the blood supply?” This is not to deny the importance of the multiple issues and challenges facing the provision of an adequate and safe blood supply, but rather to ensure the horse is in front of the cart, willing and able to address the needs of patients, with the blood supply chain appropriately responding to the clinical needs of patients.

Allogeneic blood transfusion is supportive therapy and may be administered to control the effects of, or to prevent problems, associated with a haemopoietic deficiency. Allogeneic transfusion, particularly in the perioperative setting, should not be regarded as the first line of therapy for patients with haemopoietic defects.

For most patients it is possible to minimise or avoid requirements for allogeneic blood components by correcting or managing the effects of deficiencies in the haematopoietic system.

It is self-evident that if allogeneic blood can be avoided the potential hazards need not be considered.

Benefits from transfusion have been assumed in many clinical circumstance and it is a sobering thought to consider that when there is no evidence to support the benefit of transfusion a patient is unnecessarily exposed to potentially major morbidity or even mortality. The decision-making process for blood component therapy can be challenging and much debate continues in relation to the indications for the use of various allogeneic blood components. However, there are good common sense and scientific reasons to adopt a non-transfusion default position when there is no evidence for potential benefit or clinical uncertainty. 

 

Why is Patient Blood Management So Important?

Anaemia, major haemorrhage and blood transfusions are three independent risk factors for adverse patient outcomes.

PBM addresses patient quality and safety and achieves optimal clinical outcomes for patients.

Anaemia is a global problem and accounted for 8.8% of the world’s total disability from all conditions in 2010, with iron deficiency anaemia being the most common pathophysiology. (Article: A systematic analysis of global anemia burden from 1990 to 2010.)

There is strong evidence that anaemia is an independent risk factor for increased blood transfusion and adverse clinical outcomes, especially in the surgical setting, including higher mortality and morbidity (e.g. cardiac, respiratory, renal, wound events, sepsis, and venous thromboembolism). Additionally, blood transfusion is associated with increased length of hospital stay, postoperative admission to intensive care and increased health costs.

These adverse effects are probably attributable to transfusion related immunomodulation (TRIM) and should be considered alongside other immunological risks of transfusion, such as immediate and delayed immunological reactions. Potential impacts of the collection, preservation and storage of labile blood components is also a potential causative factor contributing to adverse clinical outcomes.

It is challenging to define and capture all the clinical transfusion associated reactions in current haemovigilance systems. Haemovigilance programs focus on adverse outcomes in which deterministic causation can be confirmed, ie there is a 1:1 relationship between the transfusion and the resulting hazard. In contrast, the adverse outcomes referred to above causation is probabilistic and transfusion is a risk factor identified in observational epidemiology studies of specific patient populations.

However, in the future there might be possibilities to link incidence data on healthcare associated adverse outcomes with transfusion and haemovigilance data. Such reporting might drive and facilitate a wider and more comprehensive implementation of PBM.

It is well documented in the Australian PBM guidelines document that anaemia is a contraindication for elective surgery, but audit studies identify that in many surgical patients it remains uncorrected, increasing the likelihood of blood transfusion, jeopardising optimal clinical outcomes and increasing health costs.

Identifying and diagnosing anaemia in the elective surgical setting should be a self-evident aspect of perioperative patient care.

Additionally, poorly controlled and managed haemorrhage as well as unnecessary and excessing iatrogenic blood sampling loss are independent predictors for anaemia and adverse outcomes. Clearly, clinical practice changes would mitigate these risks, optimise patient outcomes and improve patient safety.

Allogeneic blood transfusion was “grandfathered” into clinical medicine with benefit assumed and risks assumed to be minimal. Allogeneic blood transfusion is one of the most common therapeutic intervention in hospitalised patients. For many decades blood transfusion has been culturally embedded into clinical practice as the default treatment for blood loss and anaemia. However, this practice has been challenged in recent years with accumulating evidence demonstrating that transfusion, particularly in haemodynamically stable patients, is an additional independent risk factor for adverse outcomes.

This expanding evidence base from observational and randomised controlled trials of restrictive transfusion protocols has become a major and urgent driver to shifting the clinical management of anaemia and haemorrhage from a product focus to a patient focus.

A basic and core principal of modern medicine dictates prioritising and addressing a patient’s clinical problem rather than pre-emptively defaulting to what may or may not be appropriate therapy. Although accurate diagnosis of a patient’s problem and a risk/benefit analysis of clinical management options are a sine qua non of modern medicine, for blood transfusion this has commonly not been the case in the management of anaemia and haemorrhage.

If you are already aware of Patient Blood Management, find out how The International Foundation for Patient Blood Management can support you.

I Know PBM

Patient Blood Management is all about managing the patient's own blood effectively. Find out why it is fast becoming best practice around the world.

I Don't Know PBM

Who is Online?

We have 11 guests and no members online

Stay Connected

 TWITTER           FACEBOOK            INSTAGRAM